top of page

Why it's okay to DNF a Book

Updated: Sep 13, 2020

Hello everyone! You may have noticed that last week, I didn't post my regular Friday book review. The reason for this is because I chose to DNF my current read. For those who don't know, DNF is an abbreviation for 'Did Not Finish'. The particular book I was reading is hugely popular, but unfortunately not my cup of tea. Despite this, I always feel bad when I choose to DNF a book. But I've come to realise that it's okay - hence this post! I tend to force myself to finish a book, even if I'm not liking it. But this is a big clue that it really isn't worth it. If you think about it, there's literally an unmeasurable amount of books out there, all waiting to be read. If you're not enjoying this particular one, don't let yourself waste any more time on it. Pick up another instead. Sometimes, I think because of the huge hype and popularity of some books, we feel the need to finish them - but at the end of the day, it's your choice, and there's not much point wasting valuable reading time on a book that you're not enjoying. There's some debate about whether or not to review a book if you chose to DNF it. Personally, I tend to just ignore it and move on, as I don't believe I have enough of a grasp on the book to give it a fair review. Some people choose to give a short explanation on why they DNF'd it and some include a star rating - it's your choice how you want to go ahead. Anyway, in my opinion, it's okay if you choose to DNF a book, if you aren't enjoying it - there's no pressure to continue reading. Simply choose another and move on. What's your opinion? Take care and stay safe, Sophie x


Like this post? Pin it:

Why It's Okay to DNF Pin
Why It's Okay to DNF Pin

28 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page