top of page

'The Flatshare' Book Review

Updated: May 10, 2020


Book: The Flatshare

Author: Beth O'Leary

Genre: Romance, Romantic Comedy

Pages: 336 (Kindle)

Published: April 2019 (UK)

My Rating: 5/5 Stars


Good evening, I hope you’ve all had a fantastic week! My book review today is ‘The Flatshare’ by Beth O’Leary.


Synopsis


Tiffy Moore needs a cheap flat, and fast. Leon Twomey works nights and needs cash.


Their friends think they're crazy, but it's the perfect solution: Leon occupies the one-bed flat while Tiffy's at work in the day, and she has the run of the place the rest of the time.


But with obsessive ex-boyfriends, demanding clients at work, wrongly-imprisoned brothers and, of course, the fact that they still haven't met yet, they're about to discover that if you want the perfect home you need to throw the rulebook out the window...


(From Goodreads - Link)



Review


Five stars. The easiest five stars I have ever given – and I don’t give them out lightly! Loved, loved, loved this book! To think this is Beth’s first too – I’m so excited for any future books coming our way!


‘The Flatshare’ is about just that – two people sharing a flat. And yet, it’s so much more. Leon advertises his flat for use over weekends and evenings for a bit of extra money. Needing somewhere to stay after a recent relationship split, Tiffy takes up his offer – without actually meeting him! A few months pass with cute notes exchanged between the two of them (which make for an adorable read!) until eventually, they bump into each other (quite literally!). Add a wrongly imprisoned brother, a manipulative ex and ‘Strange Man from Flat 5’ into the mix… and it takes a turn into one of my absolute favourite books!


The book was structured between both Tiffy’s and Leon’s perspective, which I really enjoyed. You could see the character development so easily this way and it was very easy to follow. Speaking of character development, the characterisation was brilliant! Every character had a different personality, something new to add to the plot, and all fit in wonderfully together. There’s even a couple of surprising twists! You’ve got bubbly Tiffy, reserved Leon, “criminal” Richie, a counsellor, a mischief-maker, a banana-hoarder… not to forget the crazy ex! Ah, I love this book!


I read ‘The Flatshare’ after hearing SO many good things about it, and I’m so glad that I did. It definitely isn’t my usual type of read as typically, I can’t stand romantic novels – but this was incredible! Leon and Tiffy are adorable. I couldn’t criticise this book – there was even a difficult topic of emotional/psychological abuse in there yet Beth handled this brilliantly. The epilogue is the cutest!


I highly recommend this book. Five out of five stars. Can I re-read it now? Trigger warning however, for emotional/psychological abuse, gaslighting, stalking and some strong language – as always feel free to send in any questions if you’d like to know if it’s suitable for you to read and I’ll be happy to answer them for you.


Take care, Sophie x


If you'd like to read my review of Beth's second book 'The Switch', click here.


Disclaimer: As mentioned in my 'Terms and Conditions' page, I am not asked to write my book reviews, contacted by the author/publisher in any way nor have I been given anything in exchange for my reviews, unless otherwise stated.



The Flat Share - Beth O'Leary
The Flat Share - Beth O'Leary

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page